Tuesday, October 18, 2016

Free Cindy Bandle Young Critics” (CBYC) Program Seeks 10th & 11th Grade Girls - Apply Through 10/21



Goodman Theatre seeks journalistically savvy and theater curious 10th and 11th grade girls to apply for its “Cindy Bandle Young Critics” (CBYC) program—now in its 10th year. Offered completely free-of-charge, CBYC is a free seven-month program designed to immerse and introduce young women to the world of theater and journalism. A joint venture between the Goodman and the Association for Women Journalists (AWJ) Chicago, the young critics attend bi-monthly Saturday workshops in the Alice Rapoport Center for Education and Engagement, where mentors assist help them develop a critical voice and hone professional journalism skills. CBYC participants also interview Goodman artists and staff members for feature stories and attend press opening nights. The first session takes place at the Goodman on Saturday, November 5; applications are due October 21 and are available at GoodmanTheatre.org/Engage-Learn.

CBYC is named for Cindy Bandle (1955-2005), whose tenure as Goodman Theatre’s Press Director spanned two decades publicizing more than 200 productions with artists of note, including Carol Burnett, Brian Dennehy, Arthur Miller, David Mamet, August Wilson and many more. During her time at the Goodman, the theater became one of the most important and respected not-for-profit resident theaters in the country; Bandle represented multiple triumphant Goodman productions, including transfers to New York and abroad, the 1992 Tony Award for outstanding regional theater, the Goodman’s 75th anniversary season and the campaign for the new Goodman.

Goodman Theatre offers a variety of free programming for Chicagoland learners of all ages to deepen their experience of the work on stage. Artist, educator and activist Willa J. Taylor has led the Goodman’s Education and Engagement programs since 2007 with a team of associates including Elizabeth Rice (School Programs Coordinator), Brandi Lee (Education and Engagement Associate), Anna Gelman (Curriculum and Instruction Associate) and Adrian Azevedo (Education and Engagement Assistant).

About Goodman Theatre
America’s “Best Regional Theatre” (Time magazine) and Chicago’s premier not-for-profit theater, Goodman Theatre is distinguished by the quality and scope of its artistic programming and civic engagement.

Founded in 1925, the Goodman is led by Robert Falls—“Chicago’s most essential director” (Chicago Tribune), who marks 30 years as Artistic Director this season—and Executive Director Roche Schulfer, who is celebrated for his vision and leadership over nearly four decades. Dedicated to new plays, reimagined classics and large-scale musical theater works, Goodman Theatre artists and productions have earned hundreds of awards for artistic excellence, including: two Pulitzer Prizes, 22 Tony Awards, nearly 160 Jeff Awards and more. Over the past three decades, audiences have experienced more than 150 world or American premieres, 30 major musical productions, as well as nationally and internationally celebrated productions of classic works (including Falls’ productions of Death of a SalesmanLong Day’s Journey into NightKing Lear and The Iceman Cometh, many in collaboration with actor Brian Dennehy). In addition, the Goodman is the first theater in the world to produce all 10 plays August Wilson’s “American Century Cycle.” For nearly four decades, the annual holiday tradition of A Christmas Carol has created a new generation of theatergoers. 

The 2016 opening of the Alice Rapoport Center for Education and Engagement (“the Alice”) launched the next phase in the Goodman’s decades-long commitment as an arts and community organization dedicated to educating Chicago youth and promoting lifelong learning. Programs are offered year-round and free of charge. Eighty-five percent of the Goodman’s youth program participants come from underserved communities.

Goodman Theatre was founded by William O. Goodman and his family in honor of their son Kenneth, an important figure in Chicago’s cultural renaissance in the early 1900s. The Goodman family’s legacy lives on through the continued work and dedication of Kenneth’s family, including Albert Ivar Goodman, who with his late mother, Edith-Marie Appleton, contributed the necessary funds for the creation of the new Goodman center in 2000.

Today, Goodman Theatre leadership includes the distinguished members of the Artistic Collective: Brian Dennehy, Rebecca Gilman, Henry Godinez, Dael Orlandersmith, Steve Scott, Chuck Smith, Regina Taylor, Henry Wishcamper and Mary Zimmerman. Joan Clifford is Chair of Goodman Theatre’s Board of Trustees, Cynthia K. Scholl is Women’s Board President and Justin A. Kulovsek is President of the Scenemakers Board for young professionals. 

Visit the Goodman virtually at GoodmanTheatre.org—including OnStage+ for insider information—and on Twitter (@GoodmanTheatre), Facebook and Instagram.

No comments:

Post a Comment